As we look at future wagers for College Football, one of the most popular wagers is often on who will win the Heisman Trophy. Before we get to things you might want to consider before placing your Heisman Trophy futures wager, let’s get to the shortlist of favorites to bring home the trophy in 2023. Below is the short list of Heisman favorites entering the 2023-2024 season:

Player (position)Odds to Win 2023 Heisman
Caleb Williams (QB)+400
Drake Maye (QB)+1000
Michael Penix Jr. (QB)+1200
Bo Nix (QB)+1200
Jordan Travis (QB)+1200
Sam Hartman (QB)+1500
Drew Allar (QB)+2000
Jayden Daniels (QB)+2000
Joe Milton (QB)+2000
Kyle McCord (QB)+2000
Cade Clubnik (QB)+2500
Quinn Ewers (QB)+2500
Dillon Gabriel (QB)+3000
The 2023 Heisman shortlist at the time of the line opening.

However, this table omits some players we think you might want to circle. Some of those players include:

Ty Simpson (30 to 1): The highly recruited future QB for Nick Saban won’t catch that many people by surprise as Alabama’s offense struggled mightily without QB Bryce Young last season. Furthermore, one should remember that the Heisman is not a lifetime achievement award and voters have shown no qualms with handing the award to a freshman QB in the past (such as to Jameis Winston in 2013). However, there are reasons to be hesitant. In past years, Saban has given his quarterbacks multiple years, often two or three, to learn his system. Simpson, for his part, is a redshirt freshman, not a true freshman. Therefore even if Simpson does win the starting job out of camp, it’s likely they may rest on their running game as they have in past years. Honestly, we were hoping he’d be closer to 50 to 1.

Cameron Rising 60 to 1: Cameron Rising beat USC and Heisman winner Caleb Williams twice last season in the biggest games of the year for both teams. Rising showed an ability to take over games with his legs and be the focal point of the offense when it matters most. As most Heisman voters will only watch big games from teams out west, being in the conversation at the beginning of the year catapults Rising into season-long consideration.

Heisman Trophy Winners By Position

The Heisman is disproportionately won by QB’s first and RB’s second. As the game has transitioned away from the running game and into spread offenses, running backs (and receivers) have suffered when it comes to Heisman voting. Spread offenses usually feature several receivers and thereby any receiver in such an offense who had an exceptional season is likely to have a QB with even better numbers. The numbers below are even skewed depending on when one establishes the “modern era of football.”

graph of heisman winners by position

In six seasons in the 1990s, from 1994 to 1999, only one quarterback (Danny Wuerffel) won and took home the trophy. During this period, four running backs (Ricky Williams, Ron Dayne, Eddie George, and Rashaan Salaam) and one defensive back/return man (Charles Woodson) won the Heisman trophy. Since then only four players who have not been a QB won the trophy. Those four are running backs Reggie Bush (2005), Mark Ingram II (2009), Derrick Henry (2015), and wide receiver DeVonta Smith. Note three of those players, played for Nick Saban at Alabama.

Odds to Win Heisman Trophy In 2023

We’ll provide more data about trends in Heisman Trophy winners, but for now, let’s get to the full list of future odds now that the lines are set. The top Quarterback is Caleb Williams who comes in at +400, while the top non-quarterback is running back Blake Corum at +3000 (or 30 to 1).

Caleb Williams400
Drake May1000
Michael Penix Jr1200
Bo Nix1200
Jordan Travis1200
Sam Hartman1800
Drew Allar2000
Jayden Daniels2000
Joe Milton2000
Kyle McCord2000
Cade Klubnik2500
Quinn Ewers2500
JJ McCarthy3000
Brock Vandagriff3000
Blake Corum3000
Carson Beck4000
Ty Simpson4000
Dillon Gabriel4000
Quinshon Judkins6000
KJ Jefferson6000
TreVeyon Henderson6000
Devin Brown8000
Braelon Allen8000
Conner Weigman8000
Spencer Rattler4000
Devin Leary6500
DJ Uiagalelei8000
Jaxson Dart10000
Jaydon Blue10000
Hudson Card10000
Riley Leonard10000
Nick Evers10000
Jalon Daniels10000
Raheim Sanders10000
Jackson Arnold10000
Donovan Edwards10000
John Rhys Plumlee10000
Tyler Shough10000
Will Howard12000
Tayven Jackson12000
Tanner Mordecai10000
Dante Moore12000
Tyler Buchner10000
Taulia Tagovailoa10000
Alan Bowman12000
Audric Estime12000
Brennan Armstrong15000
Dominic Lovett15000
Harold Perkins Jr.15000
Jack Plummer12500
Kedon Slovis15000
Trey Sanders15000
Trey Benson15000
Phil Jurkovec15000
MarShawn Lloyd15000
Shedeur Sanders15000
Graham Mertz15000
Collin Schlee15000
Luke Altmyer15000
Brock Bowers8000
Tyler Van Dyke10000
Dorian Singer20000
Kyron Drones20000
Armoni Goodwin20000
Drew Pyne20000
Cade McNamara20000
MJ Morris20000
Jovantae Barnes20000
Emory Jones20000
Devin Neal20000
Carson Steele20000
Hunter Dekkers20000
Aaron Anderson20000
Seth Henigan20000
Frank Harris25000
Grayson McCall25000
Jovantae Barnes20000
Emory Jones20000
Devin Neal20000
Carson Steele20000
Hunter Dekkers20000
Aaron Anderson20000
Seth Henigan20000
Frank Harris25000
Grayson McCall25000
Traeshon Holden25000
Evan Stewart30000
JoJo Earle25000
Sean Tyler25000
Luther Burden30000
Justin Flowe25000
JT Daniels25000
Michael Pratt30000
Athan Kaliakmanis30000
Travis Hunter25000
Denver Harris30000
Jacolby Criswell30000
Mikey Keene30000
Donovan Smith30000
Ray Davis30000
Jaheim Bell30000
Field (Any Other Player)450

Non Quarterback Heisman Winners

If targeting a non-quarterback for your Heisman future wager, consider players that will be featured running backs or receivers who do not play in a spread system. As noted before, teams will rely on their running game and have a running back with substantial pre-season buzz entering the season.

Alabama presents a terrific case study for how to select a non-Quarterback Heisman trophy winner. Of the four Heisman winners to bring home the trophy since 2004, only one (Bryce Young) was a quarterback. The Crimson Tides’ pro-style offense, which puts the emphasis on receivers and running backs over the quarterback, makes them an ideal team to produce Heisman winners from non-signal callers.

Heisman Trophy Winners By Team

Another indicator people may be targeting is the name of the school a player attends. While there are four schools that have disproportionately produced winners of the coveted award, that trend (somewhat) seems to be fading as all major conferences now have national television deals. Nevertheless, let’s go through them now.

Teams with The Most Heisman Trophy Winners

As of 2023, there are four Universities that have exactly seven Heisman trophy winners. Those schools are Notre Dame, Ohio State, Oklahoma, and USC. Alone in second place is the University of Alabama. Two things of interest about Alabama: despite their long history as one of College football’s perennial powers, all four of Alabama’s Heisman trophy winners have come since 2004.

Schools With 3 Heisman Trophy Winners

A six-way tie for the third most winners of the Heisman trophy includes Army, Auburn, Florida, Flordia State, Michigan, and Nebraska. Jameis Winston, who took home the trophy in 2013, was the last winner from any of these six schools.