The very early odds have been released for the 2023-2024 NFL MVP award by FanDuel. Note that the odds below are only the odds at the time of opening. As the NFL Free Agency period and the NFL Draft continue expect there to be large-scale changes to player odds. Beneath this section, you can find more information about the NFL MVP award and which positions are most likely to win the award (Hint: QB).

Some initial thoughts from the early release reveal that oddsmakers don’t appear down on Josh Allen at all despite the early exit from the playoffs. Allen, along with the 2022 MVP winner Patrick Maholmes and Joe Burrow, are the early favorites to bring home the trophy in 2023-2024.

Oddsmakers are buying the uncertainty around one QB’s NFL future as former MVP trophy winner Lamar Jackson opens in 9th to win the trophy at 16 to 1. Unless otherwise mentioned, the odds listed are in American format.

Josh Allen700
Joe Burrow700
Patrick Mahomes700
Justin Herbert900
Tua Tagovailoa1200
Jalen Hurts1200
Trevor Lawrence1600
Dak Prescott1600
Lamar Jackson1600
Aaron Rodgers2500
Deshaun Watson2500
Brock Purdy2500
Geno Smith3000
Justin Fields3000
Jordan Love4000
Kyler Murray4000
Jared Goff4000
Kenny Pickett4000
Russell Wilson5000
Justin Jefferson5000
Matthew Stafford5000
Kirk Cousins5000
Derek Carr5000
Trey Lance5000
Daniel Jones5000
Mac Jones6000
Sam Howell7500
Jimmy Garoppolo7500
Ryan Tannehill10000
Derrick Henry10000
Tyreek Hill10000
Micah Parsons10000
Cooper Kupp10000
Myles Garrett10000
Deebo Samuel10000
Ja’Marr Chase10000
Desmond Ridder15000
Bailey Zappe15000
Christian McCaffrey20000
Zach Wilson20000
Saquon Barkley20000
Stefon Diggs20000
CJ Stroud20000
Bryce Young20000
T.J. Watt20000
Aaron Donald20000
Davante Adams20000
Nick Bosa20000
CeeDee Lamb20000
Travis Kelce20000
Carson Wentz30000
George Kittle30000

Who votes for the MVP?

The NFL Most Valuable Player (MVP) award is given annually to the most outstanding player in the league. The award is voted on by a panel of sportswriters and broadcasters who cover the NFL. Each member of the panel casts one vote for the player they believe is the most deserving of the award.

The voting takes place at the end of the regular season, and the award is typically announced the night before the Super Bowl. The criteria for selecting the MVP is not officially defined, but the award generally goes to the player who has had the most significant impact on their team’s success over the course of the season.

Factors that may be considered include statistics, team record, leadership, and impact on the game. The MVP is usually a quarterback (which explains the list below) but players from other positions, such as running back or defensive end, have also won the award in the past.

Historical Winners of the NFL MVP

To show the frequency of team and position to win the coveted NFL MVP trophy. Let’s look at some of the historical winners of the award. We stopped the count in 1994 because not only has the game changed, but we believe it’s a large enough sample size to illustrate the preference for player position over all other factors. Note, that if multiple players appear under “Name” then that indicates that the vote ended in a tie and the MVP was split among multiple players.

2022Patrick MahomesKansas City ChiefsQB
2021Aaron RodgersGreen Bay PackersQB
2020Aaron RodgersGreen Bay PackersQB
2019Lamar JacksonBaltimore RavensQB
2018Patrick MahomesKansas City ChiefsQB
2017Tom BradyNew England PatriotsQB
2016Matt RyanAtlanta FalconsQB
2015Cam NewtonCarolina PanthersQB
2014Aaron RodgersGreen Bay PackersQB
2013Peyton ManningDenver BroncosQB
2012Adrian PetersonMinnesota VikingsRB
2011Aaron RodgersGreen Bay PackersQB
2010Tom BradyNew England PatriotsQB
2009Peyton ManningIndianapolis ColtsQB
2008Peyton ManningIndianapolis ColtsQB
2007Tom BradyNew England PatriotsQB
2006LaDainian TomlinsonSan Diego ChargersRB
2005Shaun AlexanderSeattle SeahawksRB
2004Peyton ManningIndianapolis ColtsQB
2003Peyton Manning, Steve McNairIndianapolis Colts, Tennessee TitansQB
2002Rich GannonOakland RaidersQB
2001Kurt WarnerSt. Louis RamsQB
2000Marshall FaulkSt. Louis RamsQB
1999Kurt WarnerSt. Louis RamsQB
1998Terrell DavisDenver BroncosQB
1997Brett Favre and Barry SandersGreen Bay Packers, Detroit LionsQB, RB
1996Brett FavreGreen Bay PackersQB
1995Brett FavreGreen Bay PackersQB
1994Steve YoungSan Francisco 49ersQB